
In a recent Asia Cup 2025 match, India set a target of 203 runs, and Sri Lanka put on a valiant effort in reply. Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Perera provided a thrilling batting display. However, an unusual event unfolded during Sri Lanka’s innings: the team was not awarded six runs even after a batsman hit a six. This surprising situation arose from a mistake made by the Indian team.
The incident occurred in the sixth over of the Sri Lankan innings, with Varun Chakravarthy bowling. Before the delivery, the umpire signaled a dead ball, but Varun bowled it anyway. Nissanka hit the ball for a six. However, the umpire declared it a dead ball, meaning the six wasn’t counted. The reason for this was a minor error from the Indian side.
The umpire’s decision to call a dead ball was due to Abhishek Sharma. According to the rules, a player must completely leave the field if they are in the process of going off. Since Sharma was not fully off the field when the ball was bowled, the umpire ruled it a dead ball, which meant Sri Lanka lost six runs because of the rule.







