The World Opinion

Your Global Perspective

Bengal sports activities minister Manoj Tiwary named in state Ranji squad

Former Bengal captain Manoj Tiwary, who could also be a minister of Bengal in sports activities and early life affairs within the Mamata Banerjee-led executive, will tools up for his seventeenth yr in firstclass cricket when he used to be named in Bengal’s 21-member Ranji Trophy squad on Monday.

Tiwary ultimate performed for Bengal of their Ranji ultimate in opposition to Saurashtra in March 2020. He joined TMC forward of the Meeting polls and gained from Shibpur constituency beating BJP’s Rathin Chakraborty.

He overlooked the Covid-interrupted ultimate season because of an damage however he’s again once more within the Bengal aspect underneath Abhimanyu Easwaran.

Positioned in Crew B, along side Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Kerala, Haryana and Tripura, Bengal are slated to kick off their marketing campaign in opposition to Tripura in Bengaluru from January 13.

The Bengal Ranji squad (Categorical Picture)

In the meantime, a number of participants of the Bengal Ranji squad examined sure for Covid and are recently keeping apart, the Cricket Affiliation of Bengal (CAB) knowledgeable.

“Preserving in thoughts the present pandemic state of affairs, the Cricket Affiliation of Bengal had performed RT-PCR Checks of all Bengal cricketers as a security measure,” CAB secretary Snehasish Ganguly stated.

He added: “The consequences have pop out and it’s been discovered that sure gamers had examined sure. The CAB is taking all vital precautions and movements on this regard.”

Bengal are slated to stand Prthivi Shaw-led Mumbai in a two-day warmup recreation at CC&FC on January 6-7 ahead of leaving for Bengaluru.

Squad: Abhimanyu Easwaran (c), Manoj Tiwary, Sudip Chatterjee, Anustup Majumdar, Abhishek Raman, Sudip Gharami, Abishek Das, Writtick Chatterjee, Ritwik Roy Chowdhury, Abhishek Porel, Shahbaz Ahmed, Sayan Sekhar Mondal, Akash Deep, Ishan Porel, Mukesh Kumar, Kazi Junaid Saifi, Sakir Habib Gandhi, Pradipta Pramanik, Geet Puri, Nilakantha Das and Karan Lal.

(With PTI inputs)