The World Opinion

Your Global Perspective

IND vs ZIM: BCCI brightened the fortunes of 5 players who performed well in IPL, who became the captain? See the full squad

IND vs ZIM: After the T20 World Cup being played in America and West Indies, BCCI has announced the 15-member Indian team for the Zimbabwe tour to be held next month. This team will play a series of 5 T20 matches at Harare Sports Club from July 6 to July 14. Shubman Gill, who was a traveling reserve in the T20 World Cup, has been made the captain of the Indian team, although the board has not announced the name of the vice-captain. Shubman Gill has become the overall 46th captain of India. At the same time, he is the 14th captain of the Indian team in the T20 format.

Let us tell you that many players who went to America-West Indies for T20 World Cup including captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Jaspreet Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja have been given rest. Suryakumar Yadav has also not been given a place. On the basis of excellent performance in IPL, many new players including Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma, Tushar Deshpande and Nitish Reddy have been given a place in the team. Dhruv Jurel has been kept along with Sanju Samson for wicketkeeping. Rituraj Gaikwad has also returned to the team.

Team India’s full squad for Zimbabwe tour

Shubman Gill (captain) Yashasvi Jaiswal Rituraj Gaikwad Abhishek Sharma Rinku Singh Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper) Dhruv Jurel (wicketkeeper) Nitish Reddy Riyan Parag Washington Sundar Ravi Bishnoi Avesh Khan Khalil Ahmed Mukesh Kumar Tushar Deshpande

Squad: Hubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.#TeamIndia | #ZIMvIND

— BCCI (@BCCI) June 24, 2024

Laxman will play the role of coach

Let us tell you that the tenure of Team India’s head coach Rahul Dravid will end after the T20 World Cup and no new coach has been announced yet. In such a situation, there will be no regular coach with Team India on the Zimbabwe tour. Therefore, National Cricket Academy (NCA) head VVS Laxman will play the role of coaching.

It is worth noting that the Indian team last visited Zimbabwe in 2022, at that time the team won all three matches of the 3 ODI series and captured the series 3-0. The last T20 series played by India against Zimbabwe was in 2016, where Team India won 2-1.

Don’t forget to follow Lalluram.Com’s WhatsApp channel.